Wikipedia:Deletion policy

  • the wikipedia deletion policy describes how pages that do not meet the relevant criteria for content of the encyclopedia are identified and removed from wikipedia. on wikipedia, many pages are deleted each day through the processes outlined below.

    deletion of a wikipedia article removes the current version and all previous versions from public view. page blanking can be performed (or reverted) by any user, but only administrators can perform deletion, view deleted pages, and reverse ("undelete") any deletion. all such actions (other than viewing) are recorded in the deletion log, and deletion statistics are recorded at wp:deletion statistics. if in doubt as to whether there is consensus to delete a page, administrators normally will not delete it.

  • reasons for deletion
  • alternatives to deletion
  • processes
  • process interaction
  • other issues
  • notes
  • see also

The Wikipedia deletion policy describes how pages that do not meet the relevant criteria for content of the encyclopedia are identified and removed from Wikipedia. On Wikipedia, many pages are deleted each day through the processes outlined below.

Deletion of a Wikipedia article removes the current version and all previous versions from public view. Page blanking can be performed (or reverted) by any user, but only administrators can perform deletion, view deleted pages, and reverse ("undelete") any deletion. All such actions (other than viewing) are recorded in the deletion log, and deletion statistics are recorded at WP:Deletion statistics. If in doubt as to whether there is consensus to delete a page, administrators normally will not delete it.